An open letter to everyone who asks what you’re doing after you finish college: 

I’m just going to answer the question that seems to be on everyone’s minds.. Or maybe it’s just an easy go-to for small talk.. But if I had a dollar for every time someone asked 

“So, what’s next?” 

I’d probably be able to pay off my student loans. Here’s the fun filled answer: 

I don’t know. 

I’ve graduated, I’ve finished my practicum, I did not get offered a job out of it (I didn’t at all think that I would) and I am now $25 000 in debt and have a Broadcast News Diploma. I’m living off a scholarship in my mother’s basement applying for jobs as we speak. I’ll let you know if I hear anything, okay? 

If I could travel right now, that’s what I would be doing. But, the whole debt thing really drags you down. I’m spending time with family, catching up on the sleep I’ve been deprived of for the last two years and finishing Mad Men.

That’s really all I have for you. But don’t worry, you’ll be the first to know when I know. In the meantime, if you have any ideas of what I’m supposed to be doing right now- besides trying to be a normal 19 year old- feel free to hit me up. 

here’s a pic of me in Koh Chang, Thailand
