I know it says new blog every Wednesday….. but I’m tapped out. After working more than a week straight I’m definitely looking forward to a) a couple days off, but most importantly b) time at home with the fam!

There are big and exciting things happening on the blog starting in the new year, so hang tight! 

For now I’ll leave you with a couple of my fav easy, peasy cookie recipes and a couple cute traditions to make the season bright ūüėČ xoxox

My Momma’s Shortbread

1 cup butter or margarine
1 1/4 cups flour
3/4 cup cornstarch
1/2 cup icing sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla

Cream butter, sugar, cornstarch and flour. Add vanilla. Roll or use cookie press. Bake at 300 for 15-17 minutes on an ungreased cookie sheet.

*I have a horrible mixer which Michael broke trying to mix this awfully floury dough– just use your hands it’s way easier! And get creative with the designs on top of you roll it out, don’t be afraid to use sprinkles, chocolate chips etc..

If I have a shitty mixer do you really think I have a rolling pin????

Crinkle Cookies 

Since this is not at all my recipe and I’ve actually only made them a couple times.. I’m just going to place the link here:

http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/chocolate-crinkle-cookies-recipe/

But last year they were part of my Christmas baking challenge, so check out my take!

I’ve followed her recipes for other goodies and foodies and they rock! These cookies are sure to be a hit at your next holiday party, or in your mouth! Xx

Tradition #1 

THE GINGERBREAD HOUSE!

It’s an art people, and it requires patience. But it is absolutely store bought, and we warm that icing up by rubbing it in our hands. It’s always fun to see what treats we get inside to decorate it.. sometimes we gather some sprinkles or whatever we have at the house and throw that on too. This is a crucial step in the Christmas process:

Tradition #2 

CHRISTMAS CAROLS AND OATS FOR THE REINDEER 

After momma and grandma stuff our tummies with the world’s best ham and scalloped potatoes, we sit down by the piano for some good ol’ fashion caroling! We’re no Von Trapp family… but we can sure belt out Silent Night (do you belt¬†Silent Night? Maybe that’s where we’re going wrong..) and mom plays a mean Gramma Got Runover By A Reindeer! I nearly forgot in my original writing of this post.. Grandma supplies us with some oats mixed with glitter to spread all over the lawn so the reindeer and Santa can find us! We’re now 20+ years old and still carry out this tradition. Sorry, but I’m not risking Santa skipping us.


Tradition #3 

CHRISTMAS MORNING 

There’s so many things that happen on this wonderfully magical morning I decided to group it all together. We all stay over at momma’s to wake up together- us girls used to sleep in the same bed, but we’re a) grown up b) in relationships and I don’t think the guys would be into sharing a bed.. But maybe I’ll ask. IF YOU PEAK AT THE STOCKING OR SANTA PRESENTS BEFORE EVERYONE’S UP, YOU’RE A CHEATER AND A LIAR AND YOU RUINED CHRISTMAS. At least that’s what I’ve beeen told. Followed by a visit to daddyo’s and a big breakfast feast… The rest of the afternoon is usually a pretty aggressive nap. (I never nap, I’m fricken wired, it’s Christmas.)


I don’t want to give it all away, so I’ll leave you with those few memories and cookies and wish you all a wonderfully merry and beautiful holiday celebration. Take the time to just be with your families if life allows. If not, know you are always loved and cherished and it’s the little things that matter. Not the big presents, or the shopping or how much money you spend. Remember, be merry and spread the Christmas cheer for all to hear! XoXo

