Three ingredients, you say!? No way! But I say YEEEEES way! After last week’s blog about budgeting and changing eating habits, I’ve been looking for ways to do just that. And in the process it’s adding a little bit of fun to the kitchen! I say fun… Michael may say stress and frustration.

When I’m cooking I don’t like any distractions. Just me, my recipe and my ingredients. Ew, how cliche. But it’s true. I need to focus and I’m slightly high maintenance, so I need things to go exactly as planned and exactly how the recipe calls for it to go. This is difficult when you have a man who loves you and wants to shower you with affection. Slowly, but surely, we’re getting to a compromise. I’m learning to chill the HELL OUT and accept a kiss between mixing, and he’s learning to offer assistance and mostly stay out of my way if I don’t want help. Cute.

Now onto that pasta…

People ask me all the time if I like cooking/baking, I usually say meh not really until I realize I prefer things from scratch most of the time and take any opportunity to learn a new recipe. So yes, I suppose I do like to cook, but I don’t claim to be any good at it. To stay within budget, I decided bags of flour and my two hands are much cheaper than boxes of pasta. All it took was a simple google (well, actually, Pinterest) of a recipe for homemade pasta- no eggs. I say no eggs, because I had none at the house at the time and eh, if you don’t need ’em, don’t use ’em!

Here’s what it called for:
-warm water
-olive oil
-flour

All I had for oil was cooking oil… Or so I thought! Until I remembered my incredibly thoughtful sister bought me some adorable flavoured olive oils and vinegars for my housewarming! Rosemary olive oil from Evoolution in Edmonton! Perfection.

I’ll post the full recipe all together at the end, but if you need a walk through with pictures (which I usually do) follow these quick steps:

  1. Get Ready

I usually like to get everything I need out and on my table or counter before I get started, this cuts down on the mess I drag around the kitchen and helps my OCD quite a bit when I have everything I need in front of me. I like to use my iPad instead of phone because I can prop it up and it has a bigger screen (just make sure you set the setting so your screen never turns off). This is the time to WASH YOUR HANDS and prepare! I needed 3 cups of flour, 1 cup of warm water and 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Again, I used a flavoured olive oil, feel free to use plain or mix it up!

2. Prepare Dough

You can use a mixing bowl or just a clean counter. I don’t trust myself to make a good enough well with my flour on the counter, so I decided on a bowl! Dump in your 3 cups of flour  and push it all to the side to form a well in the middle for your wet ingredients.

img_0704

Pour your 1 cup of warm water into the center followed by your 2 tablespoons of olive oil. I whisked it together just a little bit with a tiny fork once it was all in there, just to somewhat evenly distribute it.

Then sloooooooooooooowly because patience is a virtue! Start to bring the flour into the wet ingredients. Bit by bit. Seriously this process took me at least ten minutes because I wanted it all evenly distributed. I used my tiny fork to slowly bring that flour wall down into the wet ingredients, but after a while it starts to form the dough so you will have to used your hands to mix it all together.

img_0715

You may have some flour residue leftover- that’s OK. Keep it for when you start rolling out the dough. At this point I lacked taking pictures because my hands were coated in flour and dough. So once you have a nice ball of dough, I want to say the size of a small cantaloupe(?) let it rest. Cover it with a towel and leave it alone for at least a half an hour. In the meantime you can make your sauce for your pasta if you’re doing it right away. Or you can make time for those kisses your significant other has been so patiently waiting for! No? Just me?

3. Roll It Out

It’s pretty much exactly how it sounds. But before you get to rolling there’s a few things to go over. Did you leave it for long enough? Is the dough soft, as some say, silky smooth? When you poke it does the hole stay or does the dough go back to its shape? When you pinch it (oh man, this poor dough is getting beat up) is it moist? Somewhat sticky, but not aggressively sticking to you? If the answer for any of these questions is no, I’d recommend kneading it for a few minutes and then putting it back into ball form under the towel to rest. If you think it’s nothing a little flour (because it’s too sticky) or a tablespoon of water (because it’s too dry) can’t fix- let’s start rolling!

Okay I lied again, I read a lot of recipes saying to cut it into smaller sections so it’s easier to work with. This is what I did, but if you want to just go for it and roll it all out, go for it! I use a small vodka bottle as a rolling pin still soooo I cut it into quarters. Cover the other pieces to keep in the moisture for now.

With a pinch of that leftover flour, roll out that first quarter as equally as possible. Rotating it 90 degrees every few rolls. I’m no pro, so mine did not turn out as a nice long rectangle. It was a very oblong shape. BUT! I’m a fan of creativity and I was obsessed with having my noodles all different and unique! The first quarter I rolled out, I found I left it a little thick. When you pick up the dough, you should be able to see your hand through it– my idea is the thinner the better to be honest! But that’s just my taste! Try something different with every quarter if you want!

4. Cut It Up!

If I’m using a vodka bottle as a rolling pin- I very obviously don’t have a pasta maker. So I cut mine by hand, the old fashioned way! All I did was drag a knife long ways (I wanted linguine noodles) but you could cut them a n y way you want. Squares, different letters, hearts, it’s your pasta, get creative! The trick is to sprinkle a little flour on the strands as you go along because its newly exposed sides will be moist and they have a tendency to stick together. img_0717

5. Cook ‘Em!

This one is pretty self explanatory, boil a pot of water, a dash of salt and dump your fresh noods in. Keep in mind, this is very fresh dough and these noodles cook a hell of a lot faster than dried pasta from the supermarket. I like my noodles al dente; I would say it took about two minutes to cook to my liking before I removed them from the heat and strained them.

6. Eat ‘Em!

Mmmm mmmm good! I whipped up my mom’s infamous chicken linguine sauce which consists of beef broth, a can of tomato sauce, some cold water and flour and spices. When my noodles were ready I poured them directly into the sauce and coated them with my fav pasta sauce. I present to you, the final product:

img_0718
Mom’s Chicken Linguine with my homemade noodles and garlic bread.

7. Freeze ‘Em!

Michael and I used half the dough for noodles for this dish and there were tons of leftovers. So with the other half of the dough, I rolled it out just the same, floured it up just the same, and then put it in a Ziploc bag and there it sits in the freezer. They’ll be ready to dump into a pot of boiling water when we need them again!

Did I miss something? Do you have questions? Any tips? Comment comment comment I’d love to hear how yours turn out or how you make your own noodles at home!

3-Ingredient Homemade Noodles

3 cups flour
1 cup warm water
2 tablespoons olive oil

  1. Pour flour into mixing bowl. Make a well by pushing the flour to the sides of the bowl.

  2. Pour warm water and olive oil into well- slowly as to not splash the flour in. Whisk ingredients lightly to slightly blend.

  3. Take your time adding in the flour slowly to the wet ingredients. This should take approx. 10 minutes. Add flour in with fork/spoon/spatula first, as it thickens it will require your hands to knead.

  4. Once you’ve developed your desired dough ball, leave it to rest under a towel for at least half an hour.

  5. If the dough is silky smooth, cut into sections and roll out. Roll as evenly as possible. Dough should be somewhat transparent depending on your preference.

  6. Cut into desired pasta.

  7. Lightly flour pieces so they do not stick together throughout the process.

  8. Dump desired amount of pasta into boiling pot of water

  9. *FRESH PASTA CAN TAKE AS LITTLE AS ONE MINUTE TO COOK TO AL DENTE, WATCH CAREFULLY*

  10. If you didn’t cook all the pasta, cut the rest of the dough and freeze for a later date!

