Let me start off this post by saying- I don’t feel like death.

That’s pretty impressive given the lack of calories I’ve consumed in the last three days. The reason I wanted to do this ‘review’ of a fad diet was to show you that a) they never work and b) they don’t last as a long-term solution! I know that’s a little negative heading into it, but I’ve become much more aware of my health and it effects lately and just couldn’t give a rats ass about cleansing (I have a liver for that…).

What is the military diet?

One fine day in college I was scrolling through Pinterest for ways to lose weight quick (I was young, and naive- sue me) and stumbled upon this three-day mix of foods that supposedly burns fat and allows you to lose up to ten pounds in THREE days! I was heading to Mexico in a week, I’ll give it a whirl!

There are a few different variations, but they mostly include similar food: veggies, apples, lean meat, ICE CREAM… The following is the three days of consumption~ with my substitutions!

Day 1: 174.2lbs / Total Calories: 1172

Breakfast: 341 calories                                                                                       
1 c. tea
half grape fruit
toast w/ 2 tbsp peanut butter

Lunch: 329 calories
1 c. tea
1 piece of toast
1/2 c. tuna – I subbed for 30 almonds

Dinner: 501 calories
3 ounces of any type of meat
1 cup of green beans
1/2 banana
1 small apple
1 cup of vanilla ice cream

Day 2: 172 lbs
Total Calories: 1007

Breakfast: 263 calories
1 egg
1 slice of toast
1/2 banana

Lunch: 315 calories
1 cup of cottage cheese- I subbed for 3/4 cup of strawberries & a peach (similar calories)
1 hard boiled egg- I subbed for a slice of cheddar cheese
5 saltine crackers

Dinner: 429 calories
2 hot dogs (without bun)
1 cup of broccoli
1/2 cup of carrots
1/2 banana
1/2 cup of vanilla ice cream

Day 3: 171.6 lbs
Total Calories: 856

Breakfast: 253 calories
5 saltine crackers
1 slice of cheddar cheese
1 small apple

Lunch: 210 calories
1 hard boiled egg (or cooked however you like)- I did fried!
1 slice of toast

Dinner: 393 calories
1 cup of tuna- I subbed for 3 oz. lean chicken 
1/2 banana
1 cup of vanilla ice cream

Final Weight: 170.8 lbs ~ a total loss of 3.4lbs in 3 days.

Obviously, when you sub KEY things out of the diet, results will differ. I can’t eat fish which is why I had to forego the tuna, and we all have different taste buds and dietary restrictions which is I allowed for wiggle room! A GREAT site for substitutions if you want to try this 3-day diet for yourself is right here!

Was it worth it?

It depends on what you’re doing it for… If you’re trying to lose weight, this is not the way to do it. If you’re trying to maybe kick start a healthier way of eating, then yes. Which is exactly what I’m trying to do. I’ve been working on my health for the last few months as my sole priority, but unfortunately, as you know life gets in the way. Summer pops up and drinks on the patio seem harmless until you have to put on your bikini the next day. The reason I chose THIS ‘diet’ instead of a legit cleanse is because I don’t need to cleanse… My liver does that for me. Also, on the military diet, I get to eat REAL FOOD, THREE TIMES A DAY. All it is honestly is cutting out the sugary snacks, the unnecessary heating, and totally simplifying your meals. So was it worth it, meh, it was three days of my life and it was an interesting test to see if anything would happen and if I could actually do it. (On day 2, I cracked and had like half a cup of popcorn SUE ME). I want to say a big yes also because it’s helped me realize you don’t need to overcomplicate! An egg and toast is a perfectly acceptable meal. So is hot dogs, broccoli, and carrots! Those foods DO taste good, we just try to cover and smother them with sauces and cheeses galore to make them taste BETTER. I believe for me that’s where the problem lies, so it was nice to get back to basics.

How did it make your body feel!? 

Okay, so there were some interesting things to note in this section. I didn’t really realize until I started going back over the three days. I NEVER felt hungry. Which is bizarre because I was eating anywhere from 100-400 calories less than my ideal intake. I was also never lethargic or exhausted which I also found very strange. With that being said- I didn’t sleep well over these last few days, like at all. I don’t think I’ve truly slept in over 24 hours. I was also decently envious of the handfuls of snacks my boyfriends was eating right beside me… Thanks for the encouragement, honey! Xo

Overall, I would 10/10 NOT recommend as a quick weight-loss regime. I would probably about 7/10 recommend it to kick start a healthier eating pattern and to notice some more things about the food you’re consuming and what it’s doing to your body. Stay tuned, as I’ll be updating my progress over the next week to see if I can keep that weight off!

